You know when you see those shows that remind you why you love theater? The ones where every single aspect of the show works together? That one show where you could see it every single day and still love it?

For me that show was is Falsettos.

I was not part of the original Falsettos generation, the people that fell in love with it in the original production. My main motivation to see this originally was the casting. The day they made that announcement I ran around my room screaming about how Andrew Rannells and Christian Borle were going to be in the same show and oh my goodness and I absolutely need to see this! I then later found out that Brandon Uranowitz was also in it and repeated the same process, only now it was Andrew Rannells and Christian Borle AND Brandon Uranowitz were going to be in a show.  So that’s the reason I wanted to see it. But I was not expecting the glory that is Falsettos.

For one, the casting was perfect (thank James Lapine or Tara Rubin or whoever did the casting for this because you are made out of magic). I have legitimately never seen a show better cast than Falsettos. And I’ve seen a lot of shows, so that’s saying something.

SECOND: THE SET. A) David Rockwell is a genius B) He designed the set for Falsettos so C) The Falsettos set is amazing!! I don’t want to give to much away but it involves giant cubes and cubes are awesome so.  Yeah.

Also, William Finn’s music is freaking amazing. Obviously. Like if I need to be somewhere I can’t listen to Act 2 because all the feelings. I don’t know how he does it but it’s awesome. If you need proof go on Spotify (or Youtube shhh!) and listen to the cast albums. Then go buy a ticket to Falsettos playing until January 8th at the Walter Kerr Theatre.

Do I even really need to say that the acting is absolutely incredible? Because it is. Everything about this show is amazing.

So get a ticket and go to Falsettoland because this production finishes its limited run on January 8th at the Walter Kerr Theatre (my personal favorite Broadway theatre).  The cast includes Stephanie J. Block as Trina, Christian Borle as Marvin, Andrew Rannells as Whizzer, Anthony Rosenthal as Jason, Tracie Thoms as Dr. Charlotte, Brandon Uranowitz as Mendel, and Betsey Wolfe as Cordelia. Directed by James Lapine and choreographed by Spencer Liff with book, music and lyrics by William Finn. Ages 13+

PS: Go check out Anthony Rosenthal’s Youtube channel.

